Backlist Love (12)

Backlist Love (12)



Views:161|Rating:5.00|View Time:4:17Minutes|Likes:28|Dislikes:0
New year, same old amazing stories sitting around on shelves, waiting for you to LOVE THEM.
Here are some favorites.

More backlist love:

THE BOOKS:
Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Mariller:
review:

Juliet Marillier is a rare talent, a writer who can imbue her characters and her story with such warmth, such heart, that no reader can come away from her work untouched. Daughter of the Forest is a testimony to that talent, a first novel and the beginning of a trilogy like no other: a mixture of history and fantasy, myth and magic, legend and love.

Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with six sons: Liam, a natural leader; Diarmid, with his passion for adventure; twins Cormack and Conor, each with a different calling; rebellious Finbar, grown old before his time by his gift of the Sight; and the young, compassionate Padriac.

But it is Sorcha, the seventh child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect her land from the Britons and the clan known as Northwoods. For her father has been bewitched, and her brothers bound by a spell that only Sorcha can lift.

To reclaim the lives of her brothers, Sorcha leaves the only safe place she has ever known, and embarks on a journey filled with pain, loss, and terror.

When she is kidnapped by enemy forces and taken to a foreign land, it seems that there will be no way for her to break the spell that condemns all that she loves. But magic knows no boundaries, and Sorcha will have to choose between the life she has always known and a love that comes only once.
________________________________
Keeper of the Bees by Meg Kassel:
review:

KEEPER OF THE BEES is a tale of two teens who are both beautiful and beastly, and whose pasts are entangled in surprising and heartbreaking ways.

Dresden is cursed. His chest houses a hive of bees that he can’t stop from stinging people with psychosis-inducing venom. His face is a shifting montage of all the people who have died because of those stings. And he has been this way for centuries—since he was eighteen and magic flowed through his homeland, corrupting its people.

He follows harbingers of death, so at least his curse only affects those about to die anyway. But when he arrives in a Midwest town marked for death, he encounters Essie, a seventeen-year-old girl who suffers from debilitating delusions and hallucinations. His bees want to sting her on sight. But Essie doesn’t see a monster when she looks at Dresden.

Essie is fascinated and delighted by his changing features. Risking his own life, he holds back his bees and spares her. What starts out as a simple act of mercy ends up unraveling Dresden’s solitary life and Essie’s tormented one. Their impossible romance might even be powerful enough to unravel a centuries-old curse.
________________________________
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley:
review:

A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope—and letters hidden between the pages.

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.
____________________________
Find me in your internets:

Blog:

Twitter:

Instagram:

Goodreads:

Facebook:

Tumblr:

Disclosure: This is NOT a sponsored video, though some of these books were sent to me for review consideration purposes. All thoughts and opinions are honest and my own.

Affiliate links used where possible.
Thanks for helping support my channel!

9 thoughts on “Backlist Love (12)”

  1. Clearly I'm fairytale-obsessed too because I was like "wait the Seven Swans story is obscure?" LOL And I'll finally be reading Daughter of the Forest for a Retelling Bingo Challenge I'm participating in this year!
    ooh definitely going to look up Cath Crowley's books.
    Also I appreciate your adding captions!
    Okay love that you ended with the idea of "looking forward to another year of backlist titles" because it sounds sort of paradoxical but it's so true and I love it?

  2. Also highly recommend Daughter of the Forest, the whole series is fabulous. The first book is based on The Wild Swans fairytale and does a beautiful job of it.

  3. Haven't heard of Keeper of the Bees. The other two have been on my tbr for ever! You just got me excited about them again… 🙂 Happy New Year!

  4. Speaking of Cath Crowley, have you read Graffiti Moon? It's amazing in all aspects of the word. It has art, glassblowing, love, and shenanigans. I adored this and will be picking up Words in Deep Blue. I don't know how I didn't make the connection before…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *